1100 Main Street, Perry, GA 31069 PH: 478.988.6200

Hide other sections
Teacher Hall of Fame

The purpose of the Houston County Teacher Hall of Fame is to honor extraordinary classroom teachers who have made a significant difference in the lives of their students. Nominees must have maintained exemplary standards of behavior and ethics, exhibited leadership, been enthusiastic about teaching and learning, demonstrated competency in their subject matter, worked well with colleagues and administrators, and consistently sought to encourage, inspire and motivate students toward greater accomplishment.

Teacher Hall of Fame

Current and past honorees are listed below. 

Mrs. Debbie Dean
Mrs. Brenda Littlefield
Mr. Eli Claude (E.C.) Warnock
Mr. Elijah Weatherspoon
     View Program
     Watch Ceremony

Mrs. Barbara T. Asbell
Mrs. Gloria M. Combs
Mrs. Dorothy C. Hardy
Mrs. Sheila W. Keener
Mrs. Cerelia W. Sipe
    Watch Ceremony

Mrs. Linda Faraone
Mrs. Mary Ann Gore
Mrs. Gail R. Maye
Mrs. Pamela R. Stanescu 

Mrs. Inez Daughtry Brewton
Mrs. Donna Crawford Havrilla
Mrs. Sherin C. Hinnant
Mrs. Joyce Bridges Jones
Mrs. Jeanne Connell McDonald
Mrs. Carolyn K. Stonehouse      

Mrs. Joyce Brooks
Mrs. Mary Alice Holland
Mr. Ray Horne
Mrs. Annabelle Watts Katsekis Lytle
Mrs. Billie Goode Mosteller
Mrs. Bertie Riner

Mr. Philip Brewton
Mrs. Jean Brown Lambert
Mrs. Gloria Mason Ragin
Mrs. Evelyn Dowdy Ross
Mr. Leon Tompkins
Mrs. Martha Gonzalez Valdes

Mrs. Eva Nelson Holland
Mrs. Dorothy Naomi Jones
Mr. W. Earl Marshall, III
Mrs. Mildred Bynum Montgomery
Mrs. Alberta H. Moody
Mrs. Gervaise Wynn Perdue
Mrs. Thelma Eleanor Ross
Mrs. Carolyn Coleman Smith
Mrs. Pearl J. Stephens
Mrs. Mabel Ellis Weaver

Mrs. Gladwyn Sproull Barfield 
Mrs. Ruby Pickens Carpenter
Mr. Earl H. Cheek
Mrs. Marion Hunter Cheek
Mrs. Claire Tyson Coleman
Mrs. Mamie Horne Coleman
Mrs. Blanche Youngblood Collins
Miss Sara Frances Couey 
Mrs. Florence Smith Harrison 
Miss Sara Lewis 
Mrs. Molly Cason Moss
Mr. Adleigh Douglas Redmond
Mrs. Susie Mae Tharpe 
Mrs. Malissa Giles Tucker

Criteria used to select Hall of Fame members include:
♦ 20 years of classroom experience in Houston County;
♦ degrees held;
♦ retired at least five years;
♦ proof of quality teaching;
♦ significant contributions to student success; and
♦ involvement outside of the classroom, such as a sponsor of extracurricular activities.

A committee of former Houston County educators and school system graduates selected the Hall of Fame inductees.

The committee members are:

Dr. Robin Hines, former superintendent;
David Carpenter, former superintendent;
Danny Carpenter, former superintendent;
Thomas "Boot" Hunt, Perry High Class of 1959;
Herman C. Ragin, Perry Training School Class of 1945 and first principal of Kings Chapel Elementary;
Linda Horne, former Assistant Superintendent for School Operations; and
Beth McLaughlin, Warner Robins High graduate and the district's Director of Community & School Affars.




starContact Us  star Map star Directionsstar

Website Disclaimer

The Houston County School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, genetics, disability, or sex in its employment practices, student programs and dealings with the public. It is the policy of the Board of Education to comply fully with the requirements of Title IX, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act and all accompanying regulations.